Monday, January 21, 2019

Forever Yours Clean Romance Event featuring Laurie Winter


EXCERPT and GIVEAWAY
Winner Takes All
(Warriors of the Heart Book 4)
by Laurie Winter

Winner Takes All (Warriors of the Heart Book 4) by Laurie Winter

During the month of January, we will be featuring 12 fabulous authors who write clean romance. Today we feature Laurie Winter with Winner Takes All. 
Also available in the Warriors of the Heart series: Home Field, True Horizon, and After All.


This book blast and giveaway is hosted by Clean Wholesome Romance.


Description
Storm Thompson wants to be anywhere but Liberty Ridge. Especially since his hometown also contains his childhood nemesis, Colleen Gardner. With a young daughter and mentally ill mother to care for, he struggles to simply make ends meet. Every day, his goal of owning an organic farm slips further out of reach.
Psychiatrist Colleen Gardner has her sights set on starting a retreat to help veterans suffering from PTSD. She’s done well but her small town fundraisers just aren’t enough.
“The Great American Scavenger Hunt” TV show offers a million-dollar prize, and Colleen and Storm are selected as competitors. Both resolve to do whatever is needed to win, even using the other to get ahead. Storm and Colleen compete to fund their dreams, but their already tattered relationship becomes more strained. Only one will win the money. But will love prove the ultimate prize?

Excerpt
The Great American Scavenger Hunt
Day 1
Storm stood on the stairs of the US Capitol Building, and the weight of his travel pack dug into his shoulders. Before sunrise, all the contestants were bussed seven miles over from their hotel in Arlington. A few other contestants started conversations, and his minimal replies made clear he wasn’t here to make friends. Colleen ignored him, which was good. Her mere presence provided enough distraction.
He had a good view of her down at the other end of the line. How could she stand upright underneath the weight of her pack? The thing looked as heavy as her. He’d bought his at the secondhand shop in Liberty Ridge. Colleen probably shopped at a high-end outdoor store that carried the latest gizmos and gadgets. Her pack and its contents might cost the equivalent of a small country’s GDP.
When he’d seen her yesterday at lunch, he almost didn’t recognize her. Her short hair looked amazingly sexy. This morning, she wore a tousled look, like she’d just rolled out of bed, which she likely had being that the clock just struck seven-thirty am.
The host of the show, Burt Blackstone, walked before the assembled group. He stood medium height, with a trim build, and a head of closely cropped, salt-and-pepper hair. Today, Burt wore khaki shorts and an orange button-up top. “I want to wish every one of you good luck. We’ll start filming shortly. I’ll go over the rules once more, mostly for the audience’s sake. Then, I’ll give the signal, and you’ll be off.”
A low murmur drifted over the group.
Storm shifted the weight of his travel pack and mentally walked through his plan. He held a red envelope, which was identical to the ones given to the other contestants. Let’s rock and roll.
[Want more? Click below to read a longer excerpt.]


Praise for the Book
“Loved this book! The development of the characters is thoroughly enjoyable. Storm and Colleen, and their relationship, are completely relatable. The journey they take physically and emotionally is one that sucked me and wouldn’t let go until the book was done. Thank you for writing such a wonderful book!” ~ Heather Pagel
“Another wonderful book in the series. Had a different feel to the prior books, but was still addictive in all the best ways.” ~ Siobhan
“This book had a great mix of Americana meets game show meets love! The trip across the U.S. was fun to read about and the budding romance was well done and realistic. A feel good ending made this all a pleasurable read!” ~ Karie Mindock

About the Author
Laurie Winter
Laurie Winter is a true warrior of the heart. Inspired by her dreams, she creates authentic characters who overcome the odds and find true love. Fans of Brenda Novak and Debbie Macomber will likely enjoy Laurie Winter’s books as well.
She keeps her life balanced with regular yoga practice and running. When not pounding the pavement or the keyboard, she’s enjoying time with her family, who are scattered between Wisconsin and Michigan. Laurie has three kids and one fantastic husband, all who inspire her to chase her dreams.

Giveaway
Enter the blast-wide giveaway for a chance to win a $25 Amazon gift card or PayPal cash.


Links



No comments:

Post a Comment