Friday, November 2, 2018

"Death by the River" by Alexandrea Weis and Lucas Astor

EXCERPT and GIVEAWAY
Death by the River
by Alexandrea Weis and Lucas Astor

Death by the River by Alexandrea Weis and Lucas Astor

Death by the River by Alexandre Weis and Lucas Astor is currently on tour with Partners in Crime Virtual Book Tours. The tour stops here today for an excerpt and a giveaway. Please be sure to visit the other tour stops as well.


Description
Some truths are better kept secret. Some secrets are better off dead.
Along the banks of the Bogue Falaya River, sits the abandoned St. Francis Seminary. Beneath a canopy of oaks, blocked from prying eyes, the teens of St. Benedict High gather here on Fridays. The rest of the week belongs to school and family—but weekends belong to the river.
And the river belongs to Beau Devereaux.
The only child of a powerful family, Beau can do no wrong. Handsome. Charming. Intelligent. The star quarterback of the football team. The “prince” of St. Benedict is the ultimate catch.
He is also a psychopath.
A dirty family secret buried for years, Beau’s evil grows unchecked. In the shadows of the ruined St. Francis Abbey, he commits unspeakable acts on his victims and ensures their silence with threats and intimidation. Senior year, Beau sets his sights on his girlfriend’s headstrong twin sister, Leslie, who hates him. Everything he wants but cannot have, she will be his ultimate prize.
As the victim toll mounts, it becomes crystal clear that someone has to stop Beau Devereaux.
And that someone will pay with their life.
Warning: Readers of Death by the River will encounter situations of violence and sexual abuse/rape which could be upsetting.


Book Video


Excerpt
Crickets chirped and mist curled around him as Beau eased out of the crack in the wall to the cells. The chill in the air teased his sweaty skin, but the surge of power pounding through his blood was like liquid fire.
The rush consumed him. He knew in that instant he would find another victim, but his rational mind begged him to be careful.
Don’t get caught.
He chuckled. Besides the money, his father still had hefty political clout in Baton Rouge, thanks to his notorious grandfather and years of murky business dealings. The family name had spared him in the past from legal proceedings and institutions. It would again.
Heading toward the fountain across the grassy field, Beau considered his next night of fun. Before he reached the forgotten angel, a flash in the corner of his eye made him turn.
Amid the trees, crowding the edge of the property, something darted in and out. He could just make out a long, white hooded cloak, fluttering and billowing at the edge of the woods. Then it disappeared.
His heart rocketed to his throat. It can’t be!
All the stories he’d heard of the lady in white of The Abbey came rushing back at once, intensifying his panic.
Then he calmed. Someone had to be messing with him. It wasn’t the girl. Kelly had taken off, a bawling mess, across the field several minutes before and he’d heard the slam of the iron gate. He was alone. Unless … the guys had pulled a fast one on him.
But the guys don’t know about your room in the cells.
Beau cut across the grass, anxious to get to the iron gate and back to the party. Almost to the path, he glanced back over his shoulder to the patch of trees where he had seen the ghostly presence. Nothing was there.
It was just your imagination. Or was it?
He made it to the party at the beach, relieved to be back among people, but the incident with the ghost had eradicated his high.
He hungered for it to return but would have to wait.
[Want more? Click below to read a longer excerpt.]


Praise for the Book
“A deliciously dark and timely teen crime thriller deserving of a TV series. While tackling heavy-duty subject matter with grace and sophistication, Death by the River is tailor-made for fans of Riverdale, Twin Peaks, and Twilight ... Death by the River has the makings of an addictive teen crime series. Let's hope Weis and Astor are plotting a sequel.” ~ BestThrillers.com
“Very visually and sensorily detailed, this novel also carries a powerful emotional impact and a finely-tuned background of life in a class-ridden Southern community. The town is socioeconomically lopsided, with one small nuclear family at the top, some upper-class professional families significantly lower, and then the impoverished class as the base. The community is also a sterling example of how sociopathy thrives. What I took away from Death by the River was a furious despising of the antagonist, applause for the strong despite-all female protagonist and her almost equally strong boyfriend, and an immense gratitude for the Power of Poetic Justice. Yes!!” ~ Archie Standwood, Mallory Heart Reviews (RECOMMENDED for the INDIE NEXT LIST)
“ ... a thrilling psychological work ... Catching the current vogue of teen psycho and revenge tales like Bates Motel and 13 Reasons Why ... a horrifically brilliant book ... Beau Devereaux could have easily been a clichéd psycho, but the plot constructed around him and his development during the novel really shone as a masterpiece of character creation ... much in the style of Dexter or Hannibal.” ~ K.C. Finn, Multi-Award-Winning Author
“Rare is the story that simmers and rises to a boil so naturally and constantly that the reader manages to be repeatedly shocked ... a full-speed rollercoaster that doesn't slow down until the final page. Employing an evocative setting, powerfully defined characters, and taking along hard look at the darker side of human desire, this novel will catch your breath and hold it until the very end. RECOMMENDED” ~ Michael Radon, US Review
"While the authors have written a chilling story here, there's more to Death by the River than thrills. It's actually a fascinating study into the effects of good and bad parenting on children. Do it badly and parents, children and society as a whole pay the consequences. This book is not just an exciting read; it's a sobering one.” ~ Viga Boland, Retired high school English teacher and Author of No Tears for my Father: Viga's true story of incest
“While the story follows compelling characters, it also plunges readers into an intriguing setting. It is ironical that the horrors are taking place along the river that runs so close to a seminary, an establishment that should evoke a powerful sense of God and reverence for life. The characters are sophisticated and readers will learn to honestly hate the villain of the story - he is well imagined and developed with skill. In a subtle way, the authors allow his crooked mind to reveal itself. Like most serial killers, he is a charmer and an intelligent young man, but beneath the cool surface is a cauldron of simmering evil. Weis and Astor have written a riveting crime tale with strong psychological underpinnings. Death by the River is ingeniously plotted, written in gorgeous prose, and featuring a strong conflict that propels the narrative forward. The suspense intensifies as the story moves on, with the reader always feeling as though something awful could happen at any moment, and this feeling grows in intensity until the explosive climax. A real thriller!” ~ Romuald Dzemo, Readers' Favorite
“A suspense-filled thriller steeped in equal parts atmosphere, insanity, and revenge.” ~ Mary Ting, Award-Winning Author of ISAN: International Sensory Assassin Network
“Weis and Astor have created something so dark, edgy, and gritty, it will stay with you long after you close the book.” ~ Julieanne Lynch, Dragon Award Finalist: Horror (2018)

  
About the Authors
Alexandrea Weis
Alexandrea Weis, RN-CS, CRRN, ONC, PhD, is a multi-award-winning author of twenty-five novels, a screenwriter, ICU Nurse, and historian who was born and raised in the French Quarter of New Orleans. Having grown up in the motion picture industry as the daughter of a director, she learned to tell stories from a different perspective and began writing at the age of eight.
Infusing the rich tapestry of her hometown into her novels, she believes that creating vivid characters makes a story moving and memorable.
A permitted/certified wildlife rehabber with the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries, Weis rescues orphaned and injured animals. She lives with her husband and pets in New Orleans. Weis writes paranormal, suspense, thrillers, horror, crime fiction, and romance.

Lucas Astor
Lucas Astor is from New York, has resided in Central America and the Middle East, and traveled through Europe. He lives a very private, virtually reclusive lifestyle, preferring to spend time with a close-knit group of friends than be in the spotlight.
He is an author and poet with a penchant for telling stories that delve into the dark side of the human psyche. He likes to explore the evil that exists, not just in the world, but right next door behind a smiling face.
Photography, making wine, and helping endangered species are just some of his interests. Lucas is an expert archer and enjoys jazz, blues, and classical music.
One of his favorite quotes is: “It’s better to be silent than be a fool.” ~ Harper Lee (To Kill a Mockingbird)


Giveaway
Enter the tour-wide giveaway for a chance to win a $25 Amazon gift card.

Book Links


No comments:

Post a Comment